Physics121


Overview of this Course:

Syllabus Fall 2018                 Homework Problems:              (from 3rd ed. of Knight)            Ch 1 through 14                        Ch 15 through 17
Textbook: Any Calculus-based introductory book! You decide.               Former textbook: Physics for Scientists and Engineers, 3rd Edition, by Randall D. Knight.  Conceptual Questions            Questions used in Lecture          Practice Tests (past exams are not predictive of future exams)        Exam1 Fall 2011(.pdf)  Answers         Exam2 Fall 2012 (.pdf ) Answers     Exam3 Fall 2011 (.pdf) Answers


Physics 121 is a calculus-based introductory physics course that discusses kinematics, dynamics, simple harmonic motion, gravity, fluids & elasticity, and Thermodynamics.  Calculus is used freely and frequently, so if you have not taken or are not currently enrolled in calculus, you should enroll in Physics 111k. 

I will try to do whatever I can to show you the beauty of physics and to help you broaden your appreciation of the natural world by helping you understand not why it is as it is, but how it works. Some of you will be well-prepared, having had physics and calculus previously, and may not have to work so hard as those of you concurrently taking calculus for the first time. Expect to put in a good 8-12 hours per week (at minimum!) to do well in this course. For lectures to be valuable, you should read relevant topics BEFORE class.  And when I say reading, I mean you read and work out mathematical steps as you go to make sure you understand what's written. Reading a physics book is an active process, it's not like reading a novel. 


Piano&Pulleys


Friday LA Session Worksheets: (posted Friday after class)

Week 1   Week 2  Week 3   Week7   Week8  Week9  Week10   Week11: A & B


Solutions (posted on Mondays)

                 Week 2   Week 3. Week7   Week8   Week9    Week10  Week11

Physics 121 2018 Learning Assistants

Gauruv Aryal: gauruv.aryal@maine.edu
Evan Combes: evan.combes@maine.edu
Kallee Gallant: kallee.gallant@maine.edu 

Mackenzie Libby: mackenzie.libby@maine.edu 

Dominic Pelletier: dominic.pelletier@maine.edu 


Physics 114X Learning Assistants:

Cade Schurz: cade.schurz@maine.edu

Emily Wall: emily.wall@maine.edu


Tutoring Hours in Room 250 Science:

Monday: 9:00 to 13:00
Tuesday: 10:00 to 13:00 & 15:00 to 17:00
Wednesday: 8:00 to 10:00 & 15:00 - 16:00
Thursday: 10:00 to 13:00 & 15:00 to 17:00 Friday: 10:00 to 15:00 


Correction to answers in back of 3rd edition of Knight’s text: 

2.43  part c: t = 10.5 seconds (not 11.5)

3.11 part d: angle should be -71.6 degrees

3.19 part b: should be 2.8i - 1.0j

3.25  Should be Cx= - 4.94 & Cy = -1.9

4.17 Change answer to: a.) 50 m  b). 2.2 m/s 

5.35 (b) Should be 20 m/s^2, not 30.

6.69 (c) Book’s answer is totally bogus! They did not give an initial velocity, so the 

best you can do is to calculate the acceleration -7.84 m/s^2

7.17  tension at midpoint = 9.8 N

12.19 Net torque should be 5.0 N m

12.25 Problem means that rotation axis is through cm of SYSTEM. (i.e. NOT through the geometric center of the rod)

13.27 Net force should be 6.09e-7 N in y direction